Jordan Grubb blogs about partnering with ATG for the 2010 Winter Formal

“As the 6th Annual Winter Formal approaches, I’m getting more and more excited to raise money for such a wonderful organization.  In years past, this event has been a night to gather people from my academic and theatre communities together to share a night of holiday fun.  For the first time ever, I’m harnessing a wonderful and supportive community of friends and fellow artists and collecting donations for a charity.  From the beginning, I knew I wanted to help a charity in the arts, but when I researched organizations, the plethora of options became slightly overwhelming.  When I came across Arts to Grow, though, something just clicked.  Reading the stories on the many children who are artistically unnourished struck a definitive cord.  Coming from a school myself where arts programs were routinely discounted, I understand how difficult it can be to find support.  As a working actor today, I can’t imagine growing up in a world without a stage.  Through the arts, I’ve met some of the most interesting people, experienced some of the most unique moments, and found a strength within myself that, without a shadow of a doubt, gave me the courage to know thyself and become a true individual.  On December 19th, as we are ringing in the holiday season, I want to bring attention to the fact that there are kids out there with a burning desire to learn.  Some of these kids want to be engineers.  Others may want to be scientists, construction workers, or what have you, but there will always be a group of students who want to be artists, and if we can’t give them the proper education in that field, we’re depriving them and ourselves of a bright future.  There’s a lot of work to be done from now until Sunday, but I know it’s going to be one of most memorable nights of the year.  I’ll keep you posted.”

Jordan 

“Art is the only way to run away without leaving home.”  ~Twyla Tharp

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , on by .

About arts2grow

Arts to Grow (ATG) engages children in the artistic process by providing free, highly tailored and professionally taught arts education programs to youth in the New York metro area who have limited access to the arts. Arts to Grow collaborates closely with schools and community groups to match performing and visual arts programs and Teaching Artists with the specific needs of each group of children. ATG serves the community and society by helping children develop their full potential through the arts.

Leave a Reply

